

PRESS RELEASE: For Immediate Release

Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Media Contact Person: Cindy L. Richardson

Telephone: (340)774-8588

Email: Janice.freeman@dop.vi.gov

ANNOUNCEMENT OF CANDIDATES - GESC GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE ELECTIONS TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2023

Director Cindy L. Richardson announces the candidates for the GESC Group Health Insurance Elections scheduled to be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2023.

Title 3, Chapter 1, Section 6(b) requires that two employees of the Government of the Virgin Islands (one from each District), be democratically chosen by other government employees to be appointed to the GESC Health Insurance Board. Title 3, Chapter 1, Section 6(b) further requires that two retirees of the Government of the Virgin Islands be appointed to the GESC Health Insurance Board. The candidates are as follows:

- St. Thomas District Active Employees
 - o **Gilbert Comissiong**, Physician, Schneider Regional Medical Center
 - o Luis Slyvester, Deputy Executive Director, Waste Management
 - o Krishna Kilaru, Staff Physician, Schneider Regional Medical Center
- St. Thomas District Retirees Candidate Unopposed
 - o Lori Anderson Current Board member
- St. Croix District Active Employees
 - o **Beverly Joseph**, Director of Operations, Department of Human Services
 - o **Olivine Ann Treasure Hodge**, Staff Physician, Juan F. Luis Hospital
- St. Croix District Retirees
 - o **Debra Christopher**, President, St. Croix Government Retirees, Inc.
 - o **Sonia Maynard Liburd**, Former Grants Manager, Bureau of Corrections



The GESC Group Health Insurance election will be held via email; Government employees and retirees will receive an email on November 7, 2023, to the email address on file with a link to cast their vote. Voting will begin at 1:00 a.m. and end at 11:59 p.m.

Provisional ballots will be made available for employees and retirees who do not have an email address on file by contacting the Division of Personnel via email at Janice.freeman@dop.vi.gov.

Kindly note: Government employees and retirees are only allowed to vote for 1 candidate of their choice in their respective district and category.